pharmacist of the year

Honoring Defenders

Named after longtime PCCA member, president and CEO, the L. David Sparks Advocacy Award recognizes the women and men passionately advocating for patients and compounded medicine. Established in 2021 and previously known as the Evelyn Timmons, RPh, Advocacy Award, PCCA transitioned the name to honor Dave, who was always inspired by Evelyn’s advocacy efforts.

Recipients of this award are relentless in their defense of compounding and consistently:

  • Maintain relationships with lawmakers
  • Attend PCCA’s ACT Legislative Conference, APC’s Compounders on Capitol Hill, and/or NCPA’s Legislative Conference
  • Invite lawmakers to their pharmacy
  • Are involved in local advocacy as a member of state pharmacy association, a volunteer on advocacy committees in local pharmacy associations, and/or know their state lawmakers

Read The Press Release

L. David Sparks

Dave was the owner/pharmacist of multiple independent pharmacies before joining PCCA in 1988. He became President in 1992, then CEO in 2009. Inspired by Evelyn Timmons’ advocacy work, Dave has led the effort to preserve pharmacists’ right to compound through legislation and regulatory reforms. Created in 2021, this award recognizes the women and men passionately advocating for compounding.

Evelyn Timmons, RPh

Established a year after her death in 2011 and awarded annually until 2019, the Evelyn Timmons Advocacy Award paid tribute to this pioneer and longstanding advocate of pharmacy compounding. Like Evelyn, recipients were tenacious female compounding pharmacists who advanced our industry.

L. David Sparks Award Recipients

Evelyn Timmons Award Recipients

2012 – Diane Boomsma, RPh, PharmD; 2012 – Diane Boomsma, RPh, PharmD; 2013 – Lucy Malmberg, RPh; 2014 – Cheri Kraemer, RPh; 2015 – Janet Beard, RPh; 2016 – Cheri Garvin, RPh; 2017 – Jennifer Burch, PharmD, RPh; 2018 – Sue Horton, RPh; 2019 – Cathy Hance, RPh; 2021 – Jeffery R. Bray, MBA, MAED, SHRM-SCP